Irv Gotti tells all in interview

I recently heard an interview with Irv Gotti and Miss Jones of Hot 97’s morning show and most of this stuff was covered. I am glad he reiterated it for the world in Complex Magazine. Basically he speaks of the his new reality show on VH1, his relationship with Ja Rule, the battle with 50, his relationship with Preme, and many other stories like what really happened to the supposed super group “Murder Inc” (Jay-Z, Ja Rule, DMX).

“C: I asked Ja the same question, is it a let down that the Murder Inc. super group never came into fruition?

Irv Gotti: Aw man, that’s one of my biggest letdowns. [laughs] I just want you to understand this. Imagine a guy, like myself and I’m coming up and I have nothing in the world. I’m poor and I grew up in the hood, but I got the love of this music thing. And my best friends just happened to be Jay-Z, DMX, and Ja Rule, before they had anything. And me knowing these three are the most unique and the hottest rappers that I know, when they were all coming up. And they’re all kind of different, so they can co-exist. I felt like when them three were doing their thing, I felt like the most unique individual in the world because I was like “Yo, I know all of these dudes, they’re like my brothers.” So I just wanted that project to happen, just to do something with my brothers. That would have been fucking incredible. That’s one of my biggest disappointments, that that never happened.

C: What was the main reason for it never going through?

Irv Gotti: The main reason was egos, and I’m not going to tell you which egos. That one I’m going to have to keep with me and don’t share with the public. But it was egos, and there were a few egos in there, but there was one ego that really prevented it.

C: It was only one person’s ego?

Irv Gotti: There was really one, but I can’t reveal whose ego it was. I tried. I tried twice. Hard. The first time I tried, Ja was only on his first album and he only did two million worldwide, which when you think of it now it’s like, “Wow, that’s a huge success.” But he was the low man on the totem pole. In the beginning I thought maybe they don’t want to do it because Ja isn’t big enough to do that with them yet. But when Ja was moving six million worldwide, I revisited it [laughs], but it still didn’t happen.”

Read the entire interview here.

Leave a Reply

