LL needs help – 50 to the rescue

LL Cool J spoke with MTV today about his new album Exit 13:

“It’s an incredible feeling” said Cool J, who proclaims this is the best album he’s done in almost a decade. “And you know what? I have to give 50 props for that. If a guy calls you on the phone and says, ‘You know what? Your last record was kinda slow and this was a little weak.’ It was like, ‘Yo, I just thought the record was slow, man, don’t mess my LL up.’ It’s great. One of the most important things in making records, you can’t think you know everything in music. I’m humble. I’m confident, but I’m humble.

“I don’t mind having a conversation with a guy who seems to have his finger on the pulse and having a conversation with him and talking with him and seeing if he can push me a little bit and get my mojo back,” he added. “I didn’t feel I fell off, but I felt I was a little bit out of touch with the things I should be thinking about. I needed to get a little more focused and close to my people and closer to the street.

“It’s more honest,” he continued. “We haven’t worked together for months now, but [50] helped me set the fun. I got loose, I’ve been really just in the lab, but he helped me set the tone. I had fun getting loose again. It was competitive, ’cause we made records together, records that may or may not make the album. All types of hidden records. He pushed me. Now my vertical is back and I can dunk on all of them. I’mma dunk on them so crazy.”

Wait so now you’re saying you shitty album sales are not Jay-Z’s fault? LL hasn’t had a respectable hit since Ill Bomb back in 99′. We’ll see if Curtis can add “Magician” to his long resume.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

